install theme

27 March, 1775, Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States was elected to the Second Continental Congress as Virginia’s delegate.  At the age of 33 he was apart of the committee responsible for drafting a document known as “A Declaration by the Representatives in General Congress Assembled” for the rebelling American Colonies during the Revolution.  This document was later renamed the Declaration of Independence and was officially ratified on 4 July, 1776.

Jefferson after the American Revolution: 

  • Governor of Virginia (1779-1781)
  • US  minister to France (1784-1789)
  • President George Washington’s Secretary of State (1790-1793)
  • President John Adam’s Vice President (1797-1801)
  • Third President of the United States (1801-1809)
1 note